About the Auckland University Press banner

About the Press

Auckland University Press is New Zealand’s leading scholarly publisher.

From James Belich’s New Zealand Wars to Chris Bourke’s Blue Smoke, from Allen Curnow’s Early Days Yet to Selina Tusitala Marsh’s Fast Talking PI, from The Dictionary of New Zealand Biography to Ngā Mōteatea, Auckland University Press books have changed how New Zealanders see themselves and their world.

Auckland University Press currently publishes around 25 books a year. With traditional strengths in history and politics, art and architecture, literature and poetry, Māori, Pacific and Asian Studies, the Press is also developing lists in science, business and health. 

History and Politics

Auckland University Press publishes New Zealand’s leading historians and political scientists, including James Belich, Linda Bryder, Caroline Daley, Barry Gustafson, Raymond Miller, Erik Olssen and Jock Phillips. Recent titles include Hazel Petrie’s Chiefs of Industry and Ian Hunter’s Age of Enterprise (both finalists in the 2008 Montana New Zealand Book Awards), David Veart’s First Catch Your Weka and Iain Sharp’s Heaphy (both finalists in the 2009 awards), and Chris Bourke’s Blue Smoke (the 2011 New Zealand Post Book of the Year).


Art and Architecture

Auckland University Press publishes major books on New Zealand art and architecture. Key titles include important overviews such as Michael Dunn’s New Zealand Painting and Francis Pound’s The Invention of New Zealand (a finalist in the 2010 New Zealand Post Book Awards), monographs on individual artists including Leonard Bell’s Marti Friedlander and Wright and Hanfling’s Mrkusich (both also finalists in the 2010 awards), and Gregory O’Brien’s books on art for younger readers, Back and Beyond and Welcome to the South Seas (both non-fiction winners at the New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children). The Press also publishes architecture titles, including Julia Gatley’s Long Live the Modern and Group Architects.


Literature and Poetry

For thirty years Auckland University Press’s poetry list has attracted New Zealand’s leading poets, including Allen Curnow, Kendrick Smithyman, Elizabeth Smither, C. K. Stead, Ian Wedde, Fiona Farrell and Michele Leggott. Recent highlights include C. K. Stead’s Collected Poems (winner of the 2009 Montana New Zealand Book Award for Reference and Anthology), Selina Tusitala Marsh’s Fast Talking PI and Lynn Jenner’s Dear Sweet Harry (winners of, respectively, the 2010 and 2011 NZSA Jessie Mackay Best First Book Awards for Poetry), and Albert Wendt, Reina Whaitiri and Robert Sullivan’s Mauri Ola (a finalist in the 2011 New Zealand Post Book Awards). Auckland University Press also publishes key works of literary criticism (most recently Jan Cronin’s Frame Function and Alex Calder’s Settler’s Plot) and biographies such as the 2011 New Zealand Post Book Award finalist by Paul Millar, No Fretful Sleeper.


Māori, Pacific and Asian Studies

Publisher of two best-selling Māori dictionaries and other significant works by distinguished Māori scholar the late Bruce Biggs, Auckland University Press has also published books on Māori music, Māori newspapers and Māori health. Recent titles include the four-volume Ngā Mōteatea, Merata Kawharu’s Tāhuhu Kōrero (winner of the 2009 Ngā Kupu Ora Book Award) and Damian Skinner’s The Carver and the Artist. The Press publishes actively in Pacific Studies and Asian Studies with recent titles including Manying Ip’s The Dragon and the Taniwha and Cluny and La’avasa Macpherson’s Warm Winds of Change.


Science, Business and Health

Auckland University Press is developing lists in science, business and health. Initial titles include Paul Callaghan’s Wool to Weta, David Irving et al’s Changing Gears, Ralph Lattimore and Shamubeel Eaqub’s New Zealand Economy, Bruce Hayward et al’s Volcanoes of Auckland and David Veart’s Digging up the Past.