2015 Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Award Winners Announced

30 September 2015

The 2015 Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards presented at Te Papa named six category winners selected from a shortlist of 15 finalists and an overall pool of 60 Māori books. The Tuhinga Auaha (Creative Writing) section was awarded to, Puna Wai Kōrero the anthology of Māori poetry edited by leading Māori poets and scholars Robert Sullivan and Reina Whaitiri. Massey University Vice-Chancellor Hon Steve Maharey congratulated the authors for their important contribution. “What we are doing here is celebrating books that will shape the future of not only how Māori see themselves but taking those stories to the rest of the world as well”. Further reading.