Collected Stories

Maurice Duggan. Edited and introduced by C. K. Stead

‘Duggan's skill lies not only in his style, but in the total accomplishment and shaded levels of his narrative . . . and in his characters.’
– David Hill, Auckland Star


Maurice Duggan's Collected Stories is a powerful collection of short stories from one of New Zealand's finest writers of the genre. Duggan's lyrical power and exceptional style come to the fore in these brilliant stories, which are tinged with undercurrents and ambivalences. The variety of language gives great vitality to tales of a Catholic boyhood, troubled marriage, loneliness, small town ambitions and sexuality. Maurice Duggan destroyed his unpublished fiction, so Collected Stories represents virtually all of his remaining works. The critic, poet and novelist C. K. Stead has compiled and edited this collection, in addition to providing an introduction and in-depth biographical information. Stead describes the stories in this volume as 'some of the most perfect short fictions written by a New Zealander'.


Recipient of the 1960 Burns Fellowship and protégé of Frank Sargeson, Maurice Duggan emerged as one of New Zealand's great short story writers in the late 1950s. His lyrical power was first demonstrated in Immanuel's Land, published in 1956, and was celebrated in Collected Stories, compiled by C. K. Stead.


March 1981, 210 x 140 mm, 382 pages
Ebook, $39.99