Auckland University Press’s record in national book awards continues

6 June 2012

For a fifth year, small publisher Auckland University Press has topped the list of finalists in New Zealand’s national book awards.

Sixteen finalists were selected from 160 entries and books by our authors have won a quarter of the places on the New Zealand Post Book Awards shortlist, top equal with the huge multinational publisher Random House.

Our finalists are spread across three of the four award categories, reflecting the breadth of the Press’s publishing:

  1. Poetry – Shift ///by Rhian Gallagher and Thicket ///by Anna Jackson.
  2. General Non-Fiction – The Broken Book by Fiona Farrell.
  3. Illustrated Non-Fiction – A Micronaut in the Wide World: The Imaginative Life and Times of Graham Percy by Gregory O’Brien.

“It’s a real thrill to see our authors up in lights once more in the New Zealand Post Book Awards,” said Press Director Sam Elworthy.

“Greg O’Brien and Fiona Farrell, Anna Jackson and Rhian Gallagher are four of this country’s great creative minds. We’re extraordinarily fortunate to get to work with our authors building books that make a difference to this country’s imaginative life.”

Voting opens today for the People’s Choice Award. Everyone can nominate their favourite book from this year’s finalist books on-line at The book with the most votes will win the Award.

The overall New Zealand Post Book of the Year Award winner will receive $15,000. Winners of the four Category Awards will each receive $10,000. The Māori Language Award winner will receive $10,000 and the People’s Choice Award winner $5,000.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Auckland on 1 August. The winning writers will appear at a public event in Auckland the following day.

This is also the fifth consecutive year that one of our poetry collections has won the NZSA Jessie Mackay Award for Best First Book of Poetry. That award, announced last week, went to District Court Judge John Adams for Briefcase. The awards for Best First Books of Poetry, Fiction and Non-Fiction will also be presented in Auckland on 1 August.

The Broken Book by Fiona Farrell is also a finalist in the Nielsen Booksellers’ Choice Awards, on which booksellers nationwide will vote.

A Micronaut in the Wide World by Gregory O’Brien is also a finalist in the 2012 PANZ Book Design Awards, as is Pieces of Mind: 21 Short Walks around the Human Brain by Michael C Corballis. The design award winners will be announced on 5 July.

« Back

Please give us your feedback or ask us a question

This message is...

My feedback or question is...

My email address is...

(Only if you need a reply)

A to Z Directory | Site map | Accessibility | Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Feedback on this page